|A small park hidden away from the bustling
city. Mount Emily Park is located in next to Istana and close to Little India and Bugis. It contains mature trees, which serve to moderate the climate in nearby areas.
Mount Emily Park is the location of Mount Emily swimming pool. This pool was the first public pool in Singapore and the first pool in Singapore to use fresh water instead of seawater.
Mount Emily swimming pool was a municipal reservoir before the decision was made on 11 September 1929 for the Public Works Department to convert it into a pool.
Opened on 10 January 1931, the swimming pool was initially managed by the Municipal Commissioners. There was no official information on the closure of the Mount Emily swimming pool, though the facility was no longer reported on in the Singapore Sports Council annual reports after 1982.
Singapore's oldest girls' school was established by Mrs Maria Dyer of the London Missionary Society in 1842. Mui Tsai (girls sold to servitude) were taught Christian values, homemaking skills and elementary English language. For many years, it was the only girls' school in Singapore. In the early years, the enrolment comprised only twenty student. As the number of pupils increased, the school relocated several times before finally settling at 134 Sophia Road in 1861, with a boarding house built in its grounds. It was named the Chinese Girls School. In 1900, The Church of England Zenanah Missionary Society took over the management of the school which was re-named the CEZMS School. World War 2 did much damage to the school building. When regular teaching resumed, the Bishop of Singapore changed the name from CEZMS to St. Margaret's School, after Queen Margaret of Scotland. The school endeavored to provide students with a broad based education- academic, physical, social, moral and spiritual. Soon, the school had grown so much that space for further expansion was required. In 1957, plans were made to build a new Secondary School at Farrer Road. Completed in 1960, it was officially opened by the Rt Rev RF Gibson Jr, Bishop of Virginia on 20th February 1963.
Along the way to Mt. Emily Park, you will pass by St. Margaret's School site, currently St. Margaret's Primary School. See the story of St. Margaret's School above.