The Fullerton Heritage Gallery
Inside The Fullerton Hotel,
1 Fullerton Square,
The Fullerton Heritage Gallery aims to bring to life the rich significance of the precinct and is located on the ground floor of The Fullerton Hotel. Spread out over 800 square feet, the gallery contains photographs, stamps, a vintage weighing scale and a colonial-style red pillar post box located outside the Fullerton Heritage Gallery that function as a regular mailbox.
Just around the corner, outside the The Fullerton Hotel, you can find the Foundation Stone of the Monument.
From 1928 to 1996, the Fullerton Building housed Singapore's first General Post Office, along with other colonial governmental offices. The building stands on the site of the former Fort Fullerton, built in 1829 to defend the settlement against attacks from the sea. During the last days before the British Surrender, it was converted into a hospital. This building underwent three years of restoration and conservation works from 1998 and on 1st January 2001, it began a new chapter as The Fullerton Hotel.
On 8 July 2010, launching the Fullerton Heritage Gallery in the precinct, Acting Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts Lui Tuck Yew said it will bring life to the rich history and heritage of the area.
The colonial-style red pillar post box located outside the gallery weighs 500kg, flown specially from Britain, is the centre piece of the permanent exhibition at the gallery showcasing the history of the Fullerton building from a fort to post office to hotel.
This gallery is partially funded by the National Heritage Board's Heritage Industry Incentive Programme, which supports private players in developing heritage attractions.
The Foundation Stone was laid by Mr Yusof bin Ishak, the first President of the Republic of Singapore, on 18 January 1970. It was for a proposed monument paying tribute to the early founders of Singapore. The idea was raised in 1969 by the Alumni International Singapore. Originally erected across the road from the Fullerton Building and along the waterfront, the Foundation Stone was moved to the National Archives of Singapore in 2000. It has since returned to is home ground in 2010.