A 5-minute walk from City Hall, Clarke Quay and Bras Basah MRT stations.
Armenian Church bus stop along Hill Street: 2, 12, 32, 33, 51, 61, 63, 80, 197. Mica Building bus stop: 124, 145, 147, 166, 174, 174e, 190, 851. Stamford Court bus stop: 124, 147, 166, 174, 174e, 190.
The nearest car park is at Armenian Street, between Bible House and Peranakan Museum.
Singapore Philatelic Museum
23-B Coleman Street
Tel: (65) 6337 3888
Fax: (65) 6337 8958
Singapore Philatelic Museum is the custodian and curator of Singapore's treasure of philatelic materials. The museum collections range from stamps and archival philatelic material of Singapore from the 1830s to present day, and stamps from member countries of the Universal Postal Union. Step inside their friendly galleries and discover Singapore and other topics through colourful and interactive exhibitions.
Permanent Galleries (i) The Orange Room introduces the world of philately, the world's first stamp, and how stamps are a window to the world to explore many topics such as science, technology, history and culture; (ii) The Purple Room explains the process of how stamps are birthed from their theme selection, design conceptualisation, printing methods and their circulation through the mail; (iii) The Green Room serves to entrench the world's most popular hobby, stamps collection and showcases a comprehensive collection of postage stamps issued since
Singapore's independence in 1965, and selected postal stamps from the museum's
Universal Postal Union; (iv) The Room of Rarities showcases the gems of Singapore philately; (v) The Heritage Room traces the story of different migrant races who came to Singapore in the 19th century.
Throughout the year, the museum holds special exhibitions on current topics at the Changing Exhibitions section. These exhibitions feature contemporary and rare philatelic collections. Finally, drop by the museum shop for an interesting range of philatelic souvenirs.
Singapore Philatelic Museum building was commissioned by the Trustees of the Anglo Chinese School in 1906 as an additional school building to Oldham Hall built in 1897. Designed by Tomlinson and Lermit Architects, the original plans of this building was approved on 22 June 1906.
The building was used as a Methodist Book Room from the 1970s onwards until the Singapore Philatelic Museum restored it to its original glory in 1995. Singapore Philatelic Museum was officially opened on 19 August 1995 as a project of the Telecommunication Authority of Singapore. On 1 April 2000, the museum was transferred to the National Heritage Board as a fully-owned subsidiary.
Group tour is available at the Singapore Philatelic Museum. For more information visit their website or give them a call. Check out their School Programmes and Public Programmes.
The above is(are) an anaglyph image(s) (3-D photo). You will need to use a cyan and red 3-D glasses to view.